Morning Prayer 23.9.15, Wednesday in the 17th Week of Ordinary Time; Churchill Julius, 1st Archbishop of New Zealand, 1938

In fact, to have lawsuits at all with one another is already a defeat for you. Why not rather be wronged? Why not rather be defrauded?

The Rev. Canon William Maurice Branscomb, who turned 90 yesterday, was honoured at a party Saturday with longtime parishioner Frances Hinckell at Grace Church Woodlawn, Birmingham, Alabama, where he was rector for many years. A parishioner writes, "Grace is what it is because of his leadership." (Elizabeth Anderson)

The Rev. Canon William Maurice Branscomb, Jr., who turned 90 yesterday, was honoured at a birthday party Saturday with longtime parishioner Frances Hinckell, also 90, at Grace Church Woodlawn, Birmingham, Alabama, where he was rector for many years. A parishioner writes, “Grace is what it is because of his leadership.” (Elizabeth Anderson)

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my strength and my redeemer. Psalm 19:14

INVITATORY AND PSALTER

Lord, open our lips.
And our mouth shall proclaim your praise.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen. Alleluia.

Psalm 95:1-7
Venite

Come, let us sing to the Lord;
let us shout for joy to the Rock of our salvation.
Let us come before God’s presence with thanksgiving;
and raise to the Lord a shout with psalms.
For the Lord is a great God;
you are great above all gods.
In your hand are the caverns of the earth;
and the heights of the hills are yours also.
The sea is yours, for you made it,
and your hands have molded the dry land.
Come, let us bow down and bend the knee,
and kneel before the Lord our Maker.
For you are our God,
and we are the people of your pasture, and the sheep of your hand.
Oh, that today we would hearken to your voice!

Psalm 119:97-120

97  Oh, how I love your law! *
all the day long it is in my mind.
98  Your commandment has made me wiser than my enemies, *
and it is always with me.
99  I have more understanding than all my teachers, *
for your decrees are my study.
100  I am wiser than the elders, *
because I observe your commandments.
101  I restrain my feet from every evil way, *
that I may keep your word.
102  I do not shrink from your judgments, *
because you yourself have taught me.
103  How sweet are your words to my taste! *
they are sweeter than honey to my mouth.
104  Through your commandments I gain understanding; *
therefore I hate every lying way.

105  Your word is a lantern to my feet *
and a light upon my path.
106  I have sworn and am determined *
to keep your righteous judgments.
107  I am deeply troubled; *
preserve my life, O LORD, according to your word.
108  Accept, O LORD, the willing tribute of my lips, *
and teach me your judgments.
109  My life is always in my hand, *
yet I do not forget your law.
110  The wicked have set a trap for me, *
but I have not strayed from your commandments.
111  Your decrees are my inheritance for ever; *
truly, they are the joy of my heart.
112  I have applied my heart to fulfill your statutes *
for ever and to the end.

113  I hate those who have a divided heart, *
but your law do I love.
114  You are my refuge and shield; *
my hope is in your word.
115  Away from me, you wicked! *
I will keep the commandments of my God.
116  Sustain me according to your promise, that I may live, *
and let me not be disappointed in my hope.
117  Hold me up, and I shall be safe, *
and my delight shall be ever in your statutes.
118  You spurn all who stray from your statutes; *
their deceitfulness is in vain.
119  In your sight all the wicked of the earth are but dross; *
therefore I love your decrees.
120  My flesh trembles with dread of you; *
I am afraid of your judgments.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

THE LESSONS
2 Kings 6:1-23 (NRSV)

Now the company of prophets said to Elisha, “As you see, the place where we live under your charge is too small for us. Let us go to the Jordan, and let us collect logs there, one for each of us, and build a place there for us to live.” He answered, “Do so.” Then one of them said, “Please come with your servants.” And he answered, “I will.” So he went with them. When they came to the Jordan, they cut down trees. But as one was felling a log, his ax head fell into the water; he cried out, “Alas, master! It was borrowed.” Then the man of God said, “Where did it fall?” When he showed him the place, he cut off a stick, and threw it in there, and made the iron float. He said, “Pick it up.” So he reached out his hand and took it.

Once when the king of Aram was at war with Israel, he took counsel with his officers. He said, “At such and such a place shall be my camp.” But the man of God sent word to the king of Israel, “Take care not to pass this place, because the Arameans are going down there.” The king of Israel sent word to the place of which the man of God spoke. More than once or twice he warned such a place so that it was on the alert.

The mind of the king of Aram was greatly perturbed because of this; he called his officers and said to them, “Now tell me who among us sides with the king of Israel?” Then one of his officers said, “No one, my lord king. It is Elisha, the prophet in Israel, who tells the king of Israel the words that you speak in your bedchamber.” He said, “Go and find where he is; I will send and seize him.” He was told, “He is in Dothan.” So he sent horses and chariots there and a great army; they came by night, and surrounded the city.

When an attendant of the man of God rose early in the morning and went out, an army with horses and chariots was all around the city. His servant said, “Alas, master! What shall we do?” He replied, “Do not be afraid, for there are more with us than there are with them.” Then Elisha prayed: “O LORD, please open his eyes that he may see.” So the LORD opened the eyes of the servant, and he saw; the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha. When the Arameans came down against him, Elisha prayed to the LORD, and said, “Strike this people, please, with blindness.” So he struck them with blindness as Elisha had asked. Elisha said to them, “This is not the way, and this is not the city; follow me, and I will bring you to the man whom you seek.” And he led them to Samaria.

As soon as they entered Samaria, Elisha said, “O LORD, open the eyes of these men so that they may see.” The LORD opened their eyes, and they saw that they were inside Samaria. When the king of Israel saw them he said to Elisha, “Father, shall I kill them? Shall I kill them?” He answered, “No! Did you capture with your sword and your bow those whom you want to kill? Set food and water before them so that they may eat and drink; and let them go to their master.” So he prepared for them a great feast; after they ate and drank, he sent them on their way, and they went to their master. And the Arameans no longer came raiding into the land of Israel.

Canticle: A Song of Ezekiel
Ezekiel 36:24-28

I will take you from among all nations; *
and gather you from all lands to bring you home.
I will sprinkle clean water upon you; *
and purify you from false gods and uncleanness.
A new heart I will give you *
and a new spirit put within you.
I will take the stone heart from your chest *
and give you a heart of flesh.
I will help you walk in my laws *
and cherish my commandments and do them.
You shall be my people, *
and I will be your God.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

1 Corinthians 5:9-6:8 (NRSV)

I wrote to you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral persons—not at all meaning the immoral of this world, or the greedy and robbers, or idolaters, since you would then need to go out of the world. But now I am writing to you not to associate with anyone who bears the name of brother or sister who is sexually immoral or greedy, or is an idolater, reviler, drunkard, or robber. Do not even eat with such a one. For what have I to do with judging those outside? Is it not those who are inside that you are to judge? God will judge those outside. “Drive out the wicked person from among you.”

When any of you has a grievance against another, do you dare to take it to court before the unrighteous, instead of taking it before the saints? Do you not know that the saints will judge the world? And if the world is to be judged by you, are you incompetent to try trivial cases? Do you not know that we are to judge angels—to say nothing of ordinary matters? If you have ordinary cases, then, do you appoint as judges those who have no standing in the church? I say this to your shame. Can it be that there is no one among you wise enough to decide between one believer and another, but a believer goes to court against a believer—and before unbelievers at that? In fact, to have lawsuits at all with one another is already a defeat for you. Why not rather be wronged? Why not rather be defrauded? But you yourselves wrong and defraud—and believers at that.

Canticle: A Song of the Spirit
Revelation 22:12-17

“Behold, I am coming soon,” says the Lord,
“and bringing my reward with me, *
to give to everyone according to their deeds.
“I am the Alpha and the Omega, the first and the last, *
the beginning and the end.”
Blessed are those who do God’s commandments,
that they may have the right to the tree of life, *
and may enter the city through the gates.
“I, Jesus, have sent my angel to you, *
with this testimony for all the churches.
“I am the root and the offspring of David, *
I am the bright morning star.”
“Come!” say the Spirit and the Bride; *
“Come!” let each hearer reply!
Come forward, you who are thirsty, *
let those who desire take the water of life as a gift.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

Matthew 5:38-48 (NRSV)

Jesus said, “You have heard that it was said, ‘An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.’ But I say to you, Do not resist an evildoer. But if anyone strikes you on the right cheek, turn the other also; and if anyone wants to sue you and take your coat, give your cloak as well; and if anyone forces you to go one mile, go also the second mile. Give to everyone who begs from you, and do not refuse anyone who wants to borrow from you.

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, so that you may be children of your Father in heaven; for he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the righteous and on the unrighteous. For if you love those who love you, what reward do you have? Do not even the tax collectors do the same? And if you greet only your brothers and sisters, what more are you doing than others? Do not even the Gentiles do the same? Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.”

THE APOSTLES’ CREED

I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.
I believe in Jesus Christ, God’s only Son, our Lord.
who was conceived by the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died and was buried;
he descended to the dead.
On the third day he rose again;
he ascended into heaven,
he is seated at the right hand of the Father,
and he will come again to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic Church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting. Amen.

THE PRAYERS

The Lord be with you.
And also with you.
Let us pray.

Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your Name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Save us from the time of trial,
and deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power, and the glory are yours,
now and for ever. Amen.

V.  Save your people, Lord, and bless your inheritance;
R.  Govern and uphold them, now and always.
V.  Day by day we bless you;
R.  We praise your Name for ever.
V.  Lord, keep us from all sin today;
R.  Have mercy on us, Lord, have mercy.
V.  Lord, show us your love and mercy;
R.  For we put our trust in you.
V.  In you, Lord, is our hope;
R.  And we shall never hope in vain.

Churchill Julius, first Archbishop of New Zealand, probably taken in 1922, the year he ascended to the primacy. He was an English priest who became Archdeacon of Ballarat, Victoria, Australia in 1884, then then 2nd Bishop of Christchurch, NZ in 1890, where he saw the completion of the iconic cathedral. (Wikipedia)

Churchill Julius, first Archbishop of New Zealand, probably taken in 1922, the year he ascended to the primacy. He was an English priest who became Archdeacon of Ballarat, Victoria, Australia in 1884, then 2nd Bishop of Christchurch, NZ in 1890, where he led the completion of the iconic former cathedral. (Wikipedia)

Collect of the Day: Proper 20

Grant us, Lord, not to be anxious about earthly things, but to love things heavenly; and even now, while we are placed among things which are passing away, to hold fast to those that shall endure; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

A Collect for Grace

Lord God, almighty and everlasting Father, you have brought us in safety to this new day: Preserve us with your mighty power; that we may not fall into sin, nor be overcome by adversity; and in all we do, direct us to the fulfilling of your purpose; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

For joy in God's creation: Loch Fyne, Scotland, seen from Inverary Castle. (source unknown)

For joy in God’s creation: Loch Fyne, Scotland, seen from Inverary Castle. (source unknown)

For Joy in God’s Creation

O heavenly Father, you have filled the world with beauty: Open our eyes to behold your gracious hand in all your works; that, rejoicing in your whole creation, we may learn to serve you with gladness; for the sake of him through whom all things were made, your Son Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Anglican Cycle of Prayer: Diocese of Southern Philippines

Cathedral of St. Peter and St. Paul, Cotabata City, Philippines (diocesan website)

Cathedral of St. Peter and St. Paul, Cotabato City, Philippines (diocesan website)

Wednesday Morning Prayer List

Healing of Body, Mind & Soul
Martha’s daughter Benereia, difficult pregnancy
Lauren’s infant son Noah, very premature
Betty, health and memory problems
Ronn, cancer
Chuck
William, tests for stenosis
John H., depression
Br. John Ryan, OCP
Daphne, cancer
Dina
Scotty, broken bones
Sara, CAT scan
Cathy & David, physicians, cancer
Archbishop Daniel, cancer
Fr. Tim Murphy, pancreatitis and gallbladder
Krystal, surgery
Michele, cancer
Al, cancer
Debbie
Subdeacon Clint, soul-medic, procedure today

For Caregivers & Families
Rav
Brooke, Pastoral Counselor with cancer
Peggy

Please add your own intercessions, supplications and thanksgivings here.

Prayer for Mission

Almighty and everlasting God, by whose Spirit the whole body of your faithful people is governed and sanctified: Receive our supplications and prayers which we offer before you for all members of your holy Church, that in their vocation and ministry they may truly and devoutly serve you; through our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. Amen.

A Prayer of St. Chrysostom

Almighty God, you have given us grace at this time with one accord to make our common supplications to you; and you have promised through your well-beloved Son that when two or three are gathered together in his Name you will be in the midst of them: Fulfil now, O Lord, our desires and petitions as may be best for us; granting us in this world knowledge of your truth, and in the age to come life everlasting. Amen.

Let us bless the Lord.
Thanks be to God.

May the blessing of the God of Abraham and Sarah, and of Jesus Christ born of our sister Mary, and of the Holy Spirit, who broods over the world as a mother over her children, be upon us and remain with us always. Amen.++

VIDEO: All my hope on God is founded (#665, Michael, Herbert Howells; Robert Seymour Bridges, after Joachim Neander) – BBC “Songs of Praise” from St. Thomas, Belfast, Northern Ireland, 2012

One thought on “Morning Prayer 23.9.15, Wednesday in the 17th Week of Ordinary Time; Churchill Julius, 1st Archbishop of New Zealand, 1938

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.