Video Evensong 7.4.17, Tikhon, Patriarch of Moscow & Ecumenist, 1925


Jesus said to Martha, “I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die.”

VIDEO: St. Tikhon’s Monastery Museum & Icon Repository – South Canaan, Pennsylvania, 2009

I will arise and go to my father, and I will say to him, “Father, I have sinned against heaven and before you; I am no longer worthy to be called your son.” Luke 15:18-19

GENERAL CONFESSION

God of all mercy,
we confess that we have sinned against you,
opposing your will in our lives.
We have denied your goodness in each other,
in ourselves, and in the world you have created.
We repent of the evil that enslaves us,
the evil we have done,
and the evil done on our behalf.
Forgive, restore, and strengthen us
through our Savior Jesus Christ,
that we may abide in your love
and serve only your will. Amen.

Almighty God have mercy on us, forgive us all our sins through the grace of Jesus Christ, strengthen us in all goodness, and by the power of the Holy Spirit keep us in eternal life. Amen.

INVITATORY AND PSALTER

O God, make speed to save us.
O Lord, make haste to help us.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit:
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

If possible, light a candle here.

VIDEO: O Gladsome Light (unknown composer) – St. Vladimir’s Seminary, Tuckahoe, New York, 2012

Hymn: O Gracious Light
Phos hilaron

O gracious Light,
pure brightness of the everliving Father in heaven,
O Jesus Christ, holy and blessed!
Now as we come to the setting of the sun,
and our eyes behold the vesper light,
we sing your praises, O God: Father, Son and Holy Spirit.
You are worthy at all times to be praised by happy voices,
O Son of God, O Giver of life,
and to be glorified through all the worlds.

VIDEO: Psalm 141 (unknown composer) – Martin Luther College, New Ulm, Minnesota, 2011

Psalm 141

1  O LORD, I call to you; come to me quickly; *
hear my voice when I cry to you.
2  Let my prayer be set forth in your sight as incense, *
the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.
3  Set a watch before my mouth, O LORD,
and guard the door of my lips; *
let not my heart incline to any evil thing.
4  Let me not be occupied in wickedness with evildoers, *
nor eat of their choice foods.
5  Let the righteous smite me in friendly rebuke;
let not the oil of the unrighteous anoint my head; *
for my prayer is continually against their wicked deeds.
6  Let their rulers be overthrown in stony places, *
that they may know my words are true.
7  As when a plower turns over the earth in furrows, *
let their bones be scattered at the mouth of the grave.
8  But my eyes are turned to you, Lord GOD; *
in you I take refuge;
do not strip me of my life.
9  Protect me from the snare which they have laid for me *
and from the traps of the evildoers.
10  Let the wicked fall into their own nets, *
while I myself escape.

VIDEO: Psalm 143 (Matthew Camidge) – Choir of King’s College, Cambridge, 1964

Psalm 143

1  LORD, hear my prayer,
and in your faithfulness heed my supplications; *
answer me in your righteousness.
2  Enter not into judgment with your servant, *
for in your sight shall no one living be justified.
3  For my enemy has sought my life,
crushed me to the ground, *
and made me live in dark places like those who are long dead.
4  My spirit fails within me; *
my heart within me is desolate.
5  I remember the time past;
I muse upon all your deeds; *
I consider the works of your hands.
6  I spread out my hands to you; *
my soul gasps to you like a thirsty land.
7  O LORD, make haste to answer me; my spirit fails me; *
do not hide your face from me
or I shall be like those who go down to the Pit.
8  Let me hear of your loving-kindness in the morning,
for I put my trust in you; *
show me the road that I must walk,
for I lift up my soul to you.
9  Deliver me from my enemies, O LORD, *
for I flee to you for refuge.
10  Teach me to do what pleases you, for you are my God; *
let your good Spirit lead me on level ground.
11  Revive me, O LORD, for your Name’s sake; *
for your righteousness’ sake, bring me out of trouble.

12  Of your goodness, destroy my enemies
and bring all my foes to naught, *
for truly I am your servant.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

The raising of Lazarus, an icon from the 15th century, now at the Russian National Museum in St. Petersburg. Jesus was friends with this family of siblings, who recognized him as a holy rabbi and prophet. They fed and sheltered him, and their house was always open. When Lazarus died, Jesus deliberately waited a few days, then headed there to bestow a resurrection that prefigured his own. Imagine the love that was involved.

THE LESSON
John 11:1-27 (NRSV)

Now a certain man was ill, Lazarus of Bethany, the village of Mary and her sister Martha. Mary was the one who anointed the Lord with perfume and wiped his feet with her hair; her brother Lazarus was ill. So the sisters sent a message to Jesus, “Lord, he whom you love is ill.” But when Jesus heard it, he said, “This illness does not lead to death; rather it is for God’s glory, so that the Son of God may be glorified through it.” Accordingly, though Jesus loved Martha and her sister and Lazarus, after having heard that Lazarus was ill, he stayed two days longer in the place where he was.

Then after this Jesus said to the disciples, “Let us go to Judea again.” The disciples said to him, “Rabbi, the Jews were just now trying to stone you, and are you going there again?” Jesus answered, “Are there not twelve hours of daylight? Those who walk during the day do not stumble, because they see the light of this world. But those who walk at night stumble, because the light is not in them.” After saying this, he told them, “Our friend Lazarus has fallen asleep, but I am going there to awaken him.” The disciples said to him, “Lord, if he has fallen asleep, he will be all right.” Jesus, however, had been speaking about his death, but they thought that he was referring merely to sleep. Then Jesus told them plainly, “Lazarus is dead. For your sake I am glad I was not there, so that you may believe. But let us go to him.” Thomas, who was called the Twin, said to his fellow disciples, “Let us also go, that we may die with him.”

When Jesus arrived, he found that Lazarus had already been in the tomb four days. Now Bethany was near Jerusalem, some two miles away, and many of the Jews had come to Martha and Mary to console them about their brother. When Martha heard that Jesus was coming, she went and met him, while Mary stayed at home. Martha said to Jesus, “Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died. But even now I know that God will give you whatever you ask of him.” Jesus said to her, “Your brother will rise again.” Martha said to him, “I know that he will rise again in the resurrection on the last day.” Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they die, will live, and everyone who lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?” She said to him, “Yes, Lord, I believe that you are the Messiah, the Son of God, the one coming into the world.”

VIDEO: Nunc dimittis (uncredited composer) – St. Tikhon’s Seminary Choir, 2 months ago

Canticle: The Song of Simeon
Luke 2:29-32

Lord, you now have set your servant free *
to go in peace as you have promised;
For these eyes of mine have seen the Savior, *
whom you have prepared for all the world to see:
A Light to enlighten the nations, *
and the glory of your people Israel.

Glory to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit: *
as it was in the beginning, is now, and will be for ever. Amen.

THE APOSTLES’ CREED

VIDEO: Apostles’ Creed & the Lord’s Prayer – Goldie Okeefe, 2010

I believe in God, the Father almighty,
creator of heaven and earth.
I believe in Jesus Christ, God’s only son, our Lord,
who was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit,
born of the Virgin Mary,
suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried;
he descended to the dead.
On the third day he rose again;
he ascended into heaven,
he is seated at the right hand of the Father,
and he will come again to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic Church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting. Amen.

THE PRAYERS

Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your Name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Save us from the time of trial,
and deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power, and the glory are yours,
now and for ever. Amen.

That this evening may be holy, good, and peaceful,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That your holy angels may lead us in paths of peace and goodwill,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That we may be pardoned and forgiven for our sins and offenses,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That there may be peace to your Church and to the whole world,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That we may depart this life in your faith and fear,
and not be condemned before the great judgment seat of Christ,
We entreat you, O Lord.
That we may be bound together by your Holy Spirit
in the communion of all your saints,
entrusting one another and all our life to Christ,
We entreat you, O Lord.

Tikhon was a priest’s son who entered seminary at age 13; his classmates nicknamed him “Patriarch,” which turned out to be apt. As an adult he became Bishop of Lublin, then Archbishop of Alaska, where he established many new churches throughout North America and enjoyed warm relations with the Episcopal Church and others. He became Patriarch of Moscow in 1917, endured the Russian Revolution, sold Church valuables to feed the poor during the resulting famine, was imprisoned for a year by the Soviets, and endured criticism from the left and the right. In 1989 the Russian Council of Bishops glorified him among the saints.

Collect of the Day: Tikhon, Patriarch of Russia, Confessor and Ecumenist, 1925

Holy God, holy and mighty, who has called us together into one communion and fellowship: Open our eyes, we pray, as you opened the eyes of your servant Tikhon, that we may see the faithfulness of others as we strive to be steadfast in the faith delivered to us, that the world may see and know you; through Jesus Christ our Lord, to whom, with you and the Holy Spirit, be glory and praise to the ages of ages. Amen.

Collect for Friday in the Fifth Week of Lent

O Lord, you relieve our necessity out of the abundance of your great riches: Grant that we may accept with joy the salvation you bestow, and manifest it to all the world by the quality of our lives; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

A Collect for Fridays

Lord Jesus Christ, by your death you took away the sting of death: Grant to us your servants so to follow in faith where you have led the way, that we may at length fall asleep peacefully in you and wake up in your likeness; for your tender mercies’ sake. Amen.

Friday Evening Prayer List: For the Church

For Christians in the Middle East: Iraq, Egypt, Syria, Jordan, Israel and Palestine

Anglican Cycle of Prayer: Diocese of Moosonee, Ontario

For the Anglican Communion;
For Ecumenical Partners;
For Church Unity

For Primates of the Anglican Communion
Fred Hiltz, Canada
Albert Chama, Central Africa
Armando Guerra Soria, Central America
Henri Isingoma, Congo
Justin Welby, England

For Our Postulants for Ordination to the Diaconate
Hilary Greene, Diocese of Massachusetts

For our Seminarians & Their Schools
Shanna, Church Divinity School of the Pacific

Please add your own prayers and supplications here.

Prayer for Mission

Keep watch, dear Lord, with those who work, or watch, or weep this night, and give your angels charge over those who sleep. Tend the sick, Lord Christ; give rest to the weary, bless the dying, soothe the suffering, pity the afflicted, shield the joyous; and all for your love’s sake. Amen.

A Prayer of St. Chrysostom

Almighty God, you have given us grace at this time with one accord to make our common supplications to you; and you have promised through your well-beloved Son that when two or three are gathered together in his Name you will be in the midst of them: Fulfil now, O Lord, our desires and petitions as may be best for us; granting us in this world knowledge of your truth, and in the age to come life everlasting. Amen.

Let us bless the Lord.
Thanks be to God.

May the God of hope fill us with all joy and peace in believing through the power of the Holy Spirit. Amen. Romans 15:13++

VIDEO: Choirs of Holy Trinity-Sergius Lavra & Moscow Theological Academy, Bolshoi Theater, 1988

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.